

WEST HILLS COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT

Board of Trustees 9900 Cody Street Coalinga, CA 93210 (559) 934-2100

## MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE GOVERNING BOARD

November 30, 2010



# CALL TO ORDER / OPEN SESSION

This meeting of the Governing Board of the West Hills Community College District was held on site at the West Hills Community College District Office Conference Room and via conference call.

President McKean called the meeting of the Board of Trustees to order at 9:01 a.m.

Board members present (via conference call): Mark McKean, President Bill Henry, Vice President Nina Oxborrow, Clerk Jeff Levinson Edna Ivans Jack Minnite Steve Cantu <u>Board members absent</u>: Ryan Cardoza, Student Trustee

<u>Administrators present</u>: Frank Gornick, Chancellor (via conference call) Ken Stoppenbrink, Vice Chancellor of Business Services (on site) Don Warkentin, President WHC Lemoore (via conference call) Frances Squire, Executive Director of West Hills Community College Foundation (via conference call) Marcel Hetu, Director of North District Center, Firebaugh (via conference call)

### Introduction of Guests

A self introduction was made by Mr. Jim Schaeffer, Zampi, Determan, and Erickson, LLP.

### **Public Comments**

There were no public comments made at this time.

### CHANCELLOR'S OFFICE

CO-16 Settlement Agreement – Trustee Oxborrow questioned the insurance coverage section of the agreement. Mr. Ken Stoppenbrink explained that the district will be provided a certificate of insurance naming the district as a loss payee. Trustee Oxborrow stated that she was confused in regard to the \$5 million aggregate and how the amounts totaled. Mr. Jim Schaeffer with Zampi, Determan, and Erickson, LLP, explained that he noticed it as well and has a call in to the City of Lemoore for clarification. He explained that the City of Lemoore is representing they have the right insurance and should be fine.

> The settlement agreement and general release between the City of Lemoore and the West Hills Community College District was approved on a motion by Trustee Minnite, seconded by Trustee Levinson, and carried on the following roll call vote:

Trustee Cantu:AyeTrustee Henry:AyeTrustee Ivans:AyeTrustee Levinson:AyeTrustee Minnite:AyeTrustee Oxborrow:AyePresident McKean:Aye

### BOARD REPORTS / COMMENTS / REQUESTS AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no comments made at this time.

President McKean announced that the next regularly scheduled meeting of the Board of Trustees will be held on December 7, 2010.

### ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business before the Board of Trustees, the meeting was adjourned at 9:13 a.m.

Nina Oxborrow Clerk of the Board of Trustees