

WEST HILLS COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT

Board of Trustees

9900 Cody Street Coalinga, CA 93210 (559) 934-2100

MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE GOVERNING BOARD

September 12, 2006

OPEN SESSION / CALL TO ORDER

This meeting of the Governing Board of the West Hills Community College District was held via conference call. President McKean called the meeting of the Board of Trustees to order at 10:06 a.m.

Board members absent:

Larry Logsdon, Student Trustee

Board members present:

Mark McKean

Jack Minnite

Nina Oxborrow

Jeff Levinson

Bill Henry

Edna Ivans

Steve Cantu

Administrators present:

Frank Gornick, Chancellor

Ken Stoppenbrink, Vice Chancellor of Business Services

Tom Harris, Interim President, West Hills College Coalinga

Don Warkentin, President, West Hills College Lemoore

Keven Backman, Director of Human Resources

Introduction of Guests

There were no guests who identified themselves at this time.

Public Comments

There were no public comments made at this time.

CHANCELLOR'S OFFICE

CO-7 <u>Presidential Search Committee</u> – Trustee Minnite questioned why Ms. Jill Stearns is not recommended to be a part of the committee. Dr. Tom Harris

responded that Carlos Diniz' tenure and history with the institution outweighed Ms. Stearn's selection. Additionally, Dr. Harris stated that he did not want to have both of the deans on the committee and have it appear too administratively heavy. The selection of Mr. Bob Clement represents a different administrative area.

On a motion by Trustee Cantu, seconded by Trustee Levinson and carried on the following roll call vote, the membership for the Presidential Search Committee was approved:

Trustee Minnite - Aye Trustee Oxborrow - Aye Trustee Levinson - Aye Trustee Henry - Aye Trustee Ivans - Aye Trustee Cantu - Aye President McKean - Aye

The President Search Committee members are as follows:

- Tom Harris, Committee Chair
- Bill Henry, Board Member
- Nina Oxborrow, Board Member
- Anita Bart, Faculty
- Sarah Shepard, Faculty
- Tony Garcia, Classified
- Juan Rubio, Classified
- Carlos Diniz, Administrator
- Bob Clement, Administrator
- Diana Lucero, Student
- Keven Backman, EEO Officer

Dr. Harris reported that he will convene the committee later in the week to approve the brochure.

CO-8

Board Meeting Date Change – Brief discussion took place regarding the date for the September Board meeting and Dr. Frank Gornick explained that he would also like to include a study session with the meeting.

President McKean stated that he would be unable to attend the meeting as originally scheduled on September 26. Several dates were suggested and the Board agreed that September 29 at 1:00 p.m. would work well. Dr. Gornick stated that the study session will begin at 1:00 p.m., followed by the regular business of the Board.

On a motion by Trustee Ivans, seconded by Trustee Henry and carried on the following roll call vote, it was agreed to change the meeting from September 26, 2006 to September 29, 2006. The meeting time of 1:00 p.m. will remain the same.

Trustee Minnite – Aye Trustee Oxborrow – Aye Trustee Levinson – Aye Trustee Henry – Aye Trustee Ivans – Aye Trustee Cantu – Aye President McKean – Aye

Dr. Gornick briefly discussed the recent request from the developers for an additional thirty-day extension to the escrow on the old school farm property. The extension would also provide an additional \$50,000 to the total purchase price. He stated that he would move forward with the extension if there were no objections. He also stated that this item would be placed on the September 29 agenda for formal Board approval.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business before the Board of Trustees, the meeting was adjourned at 10:17 a.m.

Nina Oxborrow Clerk of the Board of Trustees