

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE GOVERNING BOARD

August 9, 2013



CALL TO ORDER / OPEN SESSION

Vice President Henry called the meeting of the Board of Trustees to order at 9:00 am. This meeting of the Board of Trustees was held via conference call at the following physical locations:

- West Hills Community College District Conference Room 9900 Cody Street – Coalinga, CA 93210
- West Hills College Lemoore Conference Room 124 555 College Avenue – Lemoore, CA 93245
- North District Center, Firebaugh Room 35 1511 Ninth Street – Firebaugh, CA 93622

Board members present:

Bill Henry, Vice President (at West Hills College Lemoore) Nina Oxborrow (at West Hills Community College District) Jack Minnite (at North District Center, Firebaugh) Steve Cantu (at North District Center, Firebaugh)

Board members absent:

Mark McKean, President Jeff Levinson Edna Ivans

Others present:

Frank Gornick, Chancellor (at West Hills Community College District) Ken Stoppenbrink, Vice Chancellor of Business Services (at West Hills Community College District) Stuart Van Horn, Vice Chancellor of Educational Services and Workforce Development (at West Hills Community College District) Don Warkentin, President, West Hills College Lemoore (at West Hills College Lemoore)

Don Warkentin, President, West Hills College Lemoore (at West Hills College Lemoore) Donna Isaac, Executive Assistant (at West Hills Community College District)

Introduction of Guests

There were no guests introduced at this time.

Public Comments

There were no public comments made at this time.

CLOSED SESSION

The meeting was immediately adjourned to closed session.

Public Employee Discipline/Dismissal/Release (as per Government Code Section 54957)

RECONVENE TO OPEN SESSION

The meeting was reconvened to open session at 9:03 am.

During closed session the Board of Trustees took action to accept a confidential resignation agreement. The agreement was approved on a motion by Trustee Cantu, seconded by Trustee Minnite, and carried on the following roll call vote:

Trustee Cantu – Aye Trustee Minnite – Aye Trustee Ivans – Absent Trustee Henry – Aye Trustee Oxborrow – Aye Trustee Levinson – Absent President McKean – Absent

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business before the Board of Trustees, the meeting was adjourned at 9:04 am.

Nina Oxborrow Clerk of the Board of Trustees