

#### WEST HILLS COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT

Board of Trustees 9900 Cody Street Coalinga, CA 93210 (559) 934-2100

## MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE GOVERNING BOARD

May 13, 2009

# CALL TO ORDER / OPEN SESSION

This meeting of the Governing Board of the West Hills Community College District was held on site at the West Hills Community College District Office and via conference call. President McKean called the meeting of the Board of Trustees to order at 9:01 a.m.

<u>Board members present</u>: Mark McKean, President (participating via conference call) Bill Henry, Vice President (participating via conference call) Nina Oxborrow, Clerk (participating via conference call) Edna Ivans (participating via conference call) Jack Minnite (participating via conference call)

<u>Board members absent</u>: Jeff Levinson Steve Cantu Jaqueline DePue, Student Trustee

Administrators present: Frank Gornick, Chancellor Ken Stoppenbrink, Vice Chancellor of Business Services Willard Lewallen, President, West Hills College Coalinga Don Warkentin, President, West Hills College Lemoore Jana Cox, Director of Human Resources Frances Squire, Director of Marketing Rick Post, Interim Executive Director, West Hills Community College Foundation

#### **Introduction of Guests**

There were no guests introduced at this time.

#### **Public Comments**

There were no public comments made at this time.

### CHANCELLOR'S OFFICE

CO-57 <u>Honorary Degree</u> – Dr. Frank Gornick commented that Mr. Vince Motte has made possible many of Coalinga's landmarks. His father helped found Coalinga College (which is now West Hills College) in 1932. Mr. Motte's most recent donation is to the West Hills Community College Foundation to fund a new weather station that will be located on three acres of grass at the West Hills College Coalinga Farm of the Future. Dr. Gornick reported that the weather station dedication is planned for May 20. He stated that Ms. Barbara Caganich and Dr. Rick Post have nurtured the environment for the donation.

> On a motion by Trustee Ivans, seconded by Trustee Oxborrow, and carried on the following roll call vote, the Board of Trustees granted an honorary degree to Mr. Vince Motte:

Trustee Cantu	Absent
Trustee Henry	Aye
Trustee Ivans	Aye
Trustee Levinson	Absent
Trustee Minnite	Aye
Trustee Oxborrow	Aye
President McKean	Aye

Trustee Oxborrow requested that she be provided with detailed information on the weather station. Dr. Gornick responded that he will provide a presentation for the Board of Trustees.

Dr. Willard Lewallen stated that Mr. Motte's contributions to the community, along with those of his family, are part of the recognition.

#### BOARD REPORTS / COMMENTS / REQUESTS AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

President McKean announced that the next regularly scheduled meeting of the Board of Trustees will be held on May 26, 2009.

## ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business before the Board of Trustees, the meeting was adjourned at 9:07 a.m.

Nina Oxborrow Clerk of the Board of Trustees