

### WEST HILLS COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT

Board of Trustees 9900 Cody Street Coalinga, CA 93210 (559) 934-2100

## MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE GOVERNING BOARD

March 20, 2009

# CALL TO ORDER / OPEN SESSION

This meeting of the Governing Board of the West Hills Community College District was held on site at the West Hills Community College District Office and via conference call. President Mark McKean called the meeting of the Board of Trustees to order at 3:07 p.m.

Board members present: Mark McKean, President (via phone) Bill Henry, Vice President (via phone) Nina Oxborrow, Clerk (via phone) Jeff Levinson (via phone) Edna Ivans (via phone) Jack Minnite (via phone) Steve Cantu (via phone) <u>Board members absent</u>: Jaqueline DePue, Student Trustee

<u>Administrators present</u>: Frank Gornick, Chancellor (on site) Willard Lewallen, President, West Hills College Coalinga (on site) Don Warkentin, President, West Hills College Lemoore (via phone)

## **Introduction of Guests**

There were no guests introduced at this time.

## **Public Comments**

There were no public comments made at this time.

# CHANCELLOR'S OFFICE

C0-44 Initial Sale of Bonds – SFID #2 (Coalinga Area) and SFID #3 (Lemoore Area) – Dr. Frank Gornick reported that the sales have been completed and executed this week and the money is in the bank. CO-45 Bylaws – Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee, SFID #2 (Coalinga Area) – The bylaws for the Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee, SFID #2 (Coalinga Area) were approved on a motion by Trustee Levinson, seconded by Trustee Cantu, and carried on the following roll call vote:

Trustee Henry	Aye
Trustee Oxborrow	Aye
Trustee Levinson	Aye
Trustee Ivans	Aye
Trustee Minnite	Aye
Trustee Cantu	Aye
President McKean	Aye

CO-46 <u>Bylaws – Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee, SFID #3 (Lemoore Area)</u> – The bylaws for the Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee, SFID #3 (Lemoore Area) were approved on a motion by Trustee Ivans, seconded by Trustee Oxborrow, and carried on the following roll call vote:

Trustee Henry	Aye
Trustee Oxborrow	Aye
Trustee Levinson	Aye
Trustee Ivans	Aye
Trustee Minnite	Aye
Trustee Cantu	Aye
President McKean	Aye

CO-47 <u>Appointments to Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee</u> – Trustee Oxborrow questioned if all individuals who submitted applications for the committees were selected. Dr. Gornick responded in the affirmative. Brief discussion took place concerning the lack of representation from a taxpayers association. Dr. Gornick explained that as long as we show due diligence in advertising, this is not a problem. He reported that SFID #1 also does not currently have representation in this area at this time.

> The following individuals were appointed to the Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee, SFID #2 (Coalinga Area) on a motion by Trustee Cantu, seconded by Trustee Levinson, and carried on the following roll call vote:

Trustee Henry	Aye
Trustee Oxborrow	Aye
Trustee Levinson	Aye
Trustee Ivans	Aye
Trustee Minnite	Aye
Trustee Cantu	Aye

### President McKean Aye

### Committee Appointments:

- Lisa Carrana
- Ralph Gorrill
- Richard Hill
- Mike Isaac
- Ron Lander
- Dixie Welborn
- James Yates
- CO-48 <u>Appointments to Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee</u> The following individuals were appointed to the Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee, SFID #3 (Lemoore Area) on a motion by Trustee Minnite, seconded by Trustee Levinson, and carried on the following roll call vote:

Aye
Aye

Committee Appointments:

- Linda Balcazar
- James (Buddy) Brooks
- Les Brown
- Sally Day
- Donna Elliott
- Tom Hernandez
- Lynda Lahodny

# ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business before the Board of Trustees, the meeting was adjourned at 3:14 p.m.